Recipe Roundup: Peach-a-palooza

peaches

With the end of summer comes the end of peach season.  In honour of the end of a delicious season, here’s a roundup of some of my favourite peach recipes.


Balsamic Glazed Peaches (from Budget Bytes):  This is really good, really easy, and a great way to use up peaches if you have peaches that are about to go bad.  You basically cook up some peaches in butter, and then add balsamic vinegar.  The outcome is slightly odd, but really tasty.  I used some of them to make a sundae and this salad.  I also used the peaches in the Grilled Peach, Brie & Basil Sandwich below.  I highly recommend you give this recipe a try.

Substitutions/Additions: Nothing!


Grilled Peach, Brie & Basil Sandwich: This tastes a little fancy, even though it’s really just a pretty simple sandwich.  I made it on homemade whole wheat bread, but I think it’d be really good on a sourdough bread.

Substitutions/Additions:  I used the Balsamic Glazed Peaches above rather than just regular peach slices.  I also think this is one of those situations where you absolutely need to use fresh basil, rather than dried.


Peach Salsa: It’s got peaches, it’s got tomatoes, it’s got lime juice and it’s got deliciousness.

Substitutions/Additions: It’s my own recipe so, no substitutions or additions for this one.


Peach Carrot Bread (from Delightfully tacky):  This bread is more like a cake, but that didn’t stop me from eating it for breakfast.  It was also great with vanilla ice cream for dessert.  Another good way to use up peaches that might be close to going bad.

Substitutions/Additions: I mostly stuck to the recipe, although I think I added a bit of vanilla and some ground flaxseed (which I add to a lot of baked goods)


Leave a comment