Meals for a Month

Meals for a monthI love home made food and I generally like cooking, but what I don’t like is all the prep. No, I don’t mean chopping up veggies (although I could do without onion chopping), I mean deciding what to make, scouring recipes, figuring out ingredients, and doing the grocery shopping. If a suitable menu could magically appear with all the appropriate ingredients, that would be great. Unfortunately, that’s not going to happen. Well, at least not for free. But I digress, because I’m not some fancy-pants who hires someone to make their food (okay, sometimes).

Although nothing magical is likely to happen, I think I can create a menu plan that would at least lessen some of the daily or weekly food decision making I need to do. I’m going to try pre-planning my meals for an entire month. Over the past few days, I’ve been working on putting together a four-week menu plan. It’s a bit of a challenge trying to figure out how many meals of leftovers I’ll get from each meal and how many recipes I need to make, but I’ve got at least a rough plan for four weeks. I’ve also tried to sketch out when I can do some of the advanced prep for various meals.  So if I know I’m making two or three things with onions (oh the dreaded onions), I can chop them all on Sunday and use them throughout the week. It should also simplify grocery shopping. I’m already pretty good about making a grocery list of what I need, but I could be better, and this should hopefully reduce the amount of times that I’m scrambling to decide what I’m going to make five minutes before I get groceries.

Leave a Reply

